« Back

State regulators grant final approval for Cleco's MISO membership

PINEVILLE, La., Nov. 18, 2013 - The Louisiana Public Service Commission (LPSC) approved the implementation details necessary for Cleco Power LLC to join the Midcontinent Independent System Operator, Inc. (MISO). This is the second and final regulatory approval required for Cleco Power, Cleco Corporation's (NYSE: CNL) regulated utility, to join the regional transmission organization.

 "We are pleased to complete the regulatory process to join MISO," said Darren Olagues, president of Cleco Power. "We now have approval on how we account for MISO-related transmission and market charges that are part of being a member of a regional transmission organization. Our attention to a December integration continues as we methodically move through the processes of fine tuning systems and training staff."

In June, the LPSC approved Cleco Power's request for a change of control of its high-voltage transmission system to MISO, the first of two state regulatory approvals required for MISO membership. Cleco Power also began operational activities in June when MISO became its reliability coordinator.

Cleco Power received the final approval during the LSPC's monthly Business and Executive session held last week.

Cleco Corporation is a regional energy company headquartered in Pineville, La. Cleco owns a regulated electric utility company, Cleco Power LLC, which owns nine generating units with a total nameplate capacity of 2,565 megawatts and serves approximately 283,000 customers in Louisiana through its retail business and 10 communities across Louisiana and Mississippi through wholesale power contracts.  Cleco also owns a wholesale energy business, Cleco Midstream Resources LLC, which owns two natural gas-fired generating units with a total nameplate capacity of 775 megawatts.  For more information about Cleco, visit www.cleco.com.

Analyst and Media Contact:
Robbyn Cooper
(318) 484-7136

Press Releases  

  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010